Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Conference: 3rd Islamicate Digital Humanities Network Conference

April 29 @ 10:00 - 13:00

The Islamicate Digital Humanities Network is hosting their 3rd conference on Wednesday, April 29th from 10 am to 1 pm EDT (consult the time table below and attached to this post, in order to find out at what time the meeting is taking place in your time zone). The conference will be held online on ZOOM (an account is not necessary).
3rd IDHN Online Conference
Date and Time:
San Francisco: Wednesday, April 29th, 2020 07 am PDT
Chicago: Wednesday, April 29th, 2020 09 am CDT
Washington, DC: Wednesday, April 29th, 2020 10 am EDT
London: Wednesday, April 29th, 2020 03 pm BST
Berlin: Wednesday, April 29th, 2020 04 pm MESZ
Beirut: Wednesday, April 29th, 2020 05 pm OEZ
Abu Dhabi: Wednesday, April 29th, 2020 06 pm GST
Tokyo: Wednesday, April 29th, 2020 11 pm JST
Link: https://georgetown.zoom.us/j/540061257
Program:
10.00 am EDT Opening words
Irene Kirchner (Georgetown University)3rdIDHNOnlineConferenceWithLink
10.10 am EDT Handwritten-°©‐Text-°©‐Recognition for Arabic Script: A Case Study in Ottoman Turkish
Suphan Kirmizialtin (New York University Abu Dhabi)
10.40 am EDT Catch me if you can! Tracing the late Ottoman ideosphere through network analysis
and stylometry of the Arabic periodical press
Till Grallert (Orient-°©‐Institut Beirut)
11.10 am EDT Encoding Indo-°©‐Persian legal documents: Challenges of working in different scripts
Nandini Chatterjee (University of Exeter)
11.40 am EDT SAFAR as a digital framework for Arabic Islamicate Texts
Karim Bouzoubaak (Mohammed V University, Rabat)
12.10 pm EDT Distributional Semantics for the Quran
Menwa Alshammeri (University of Leeds)
12.40 pm EDT Concluding discussion