Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Call for Submissions: “Cromwell Dissertation Prize,” American Society for Legal History

June 1, 2020

Best dissertation in American legal history completed in the past year.
June 1, 2020
The William Nelson Cromwell Foundation Dissertation Prize is awarded annually to the best dissertation in any area of American legal history, including constitutional and comparative studies, although topics dealing with the colonial and early national periods will receive some preference.
The author of the winning dissertation receives $5,000. Anyone who received a Ph.D. in 2019 will be eligible for this year’s prize, which is awarded by the Foundation after a review of the recommendation of the Cromwell Prize Advisory Committee of the American Society for Legal History.
Submissions should be made by the author including only (1) the dissertation as submitted to the university for the degree and (2) a curriculum vitae.
To be considered for this year’s prize, the author should EITHER
1. Send a hard copy of the dissertation and author curriculum vitae to all committee members and John Gordan listed below OR
2. E-mail a PDF electronic copy of the dissertation and author curriculum vitae to John Gordan ([email protected]) and the prize committee chair, Mary Sarah Bilder ([email protected]) with the subject heading: CROMWELL DISSERTATION PRIZE SUBMISSION no later than June 1, 2020.  Please title the PDF as “author last name” and “short title”.pdf  (e.g.: Thompson Whigs and Hunters).
Committee Members
John D. Gordan, III
Secretary of the Cromwell Foundation
1133 Park Avenue
New York, NY, 10128
Mary Sarah Bilder (chair)
Boston College Law School
Timothy Lovelace
Indiana University
Anne Kornhauser
City College of New York
Dylan Penningroth
University of California, Berkeley
Sarah Seo
University of Iowa College of Law