Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Call for Submissions: “John Phillip Reid Book Award,” American Society for Legal History

June 1, 2020

Best monograph by a mid-career or senior scholar, published in English in Anglo-American legal history.
June 1, 2020
The John Phillip Reid Book Award is awarded annually for the best monograph by a mid-career or senior scholar, published in English in any of the fields defined broadly as Anglo-American legal history. The prize is named for John Phillip Reid, the prolific legal historian and founding member of the Society, and made possible by the generous contributions of his friends and colleagues. When awarding this prize, preference is given to work that falls within Reid’s own interests in seventeenth- through nineteenth-century Anglo-America and Native American law.
The award is given on the recommendation of the Society’s Committee on the John Phillip Reid Book Award. (First books, written wholly or primarily while the author was untenured, should be sent to the Cromwell Book Prize committee of the William Nelson Cromwell Foundation. The Reid Award and the Cromwell Book Prize are mutually exclusive.)
For the 2019 prize, the Reid Award Committee will accept nominations from authors, presses, or anyone else, of any book that bears a copyright date in 2019. Nominations for the Reid Award should be submitted by June 1, 2020, by sending a curriculum vitae of the author and one copy of the book to each member of the committee.
Committee Members
Richard Ross (chair)
312 W. Nevada Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Margot Canaday
6922 Prince Georges Ave.
Takoma Park, MD 20912
Deborah Rosen
70 Lake Road
Basking Ridge, NJ 07920
Steven Wilf
93 Mumford Road
New Haven, CT 06515
John Witt
271 Park Street
New Haven, CT 06511