Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Mesa Book Awards: Including Two New Awards

April 1, 2018

The MESA Board of Directors has approved the creation of two new book awards honoring the pioneering efforts of two women. The inaugural awards will be presented at the 52nd MESA Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

The Nikki Keddie Book Award was established to recognize an outstanding contribution on religion, revolution, and history/society. The annual award was named for Nikki Keddie to recognize her long and distinguished career as a scholar and teacher. Read More

The Fatima Mernissi Book Award was established to recognize an outstanding contribution to studies of gender, sexuality, and women’s lived experience. The annual award was named for Fatima Mernissi to recognize her long and distinguished career as a scholar and as a public intellectual. Read More 


Nominations for all three MESA Book Awards – the Albert Hourani Book Award, the Nikki Keddie Book Award, and the Fatima Mernissi Book Award – are made simultaneously. Nominations can be made by either the publisher or the author. Although there is no limit on the number of titles that authors or publishers may submit, we ask that they exercise discretion in the selection of books nominated.  Below is a list of criteria that should be met:

  1. Books must be non-fiction scholarly monographs based on original research published in English between April 1, 2017 and March 31, 2018. Authors need not be members of MESA.


  1. Subject matter must deal with the Middle East.  Areas primarily of interest include Iran, Turkey, Afghanistan, Israel, Pakistan, and the countries of the Arab World from the seventh century to modern times.  Spain, Southeastern Europe, the Soviet Union and other regions also are included for the periods in which their territories were part of the Middle Eastern empires or were under the influence of Middle Eastern civilization.


  1. Works not eligible include edited collections and compilations, proceedings of symposia, new editions of previously published books, bibliographies, dictionaries, textbooks, and surveys.


  1. Nominations must be made by April 1, 2018, with books delivered to the readers by April 10, 2018, for books to be eligible for the competition. (Emailed nominations are acceptable)

The author of the Albert Hourani Book Award will receive $1000 and a certificate of award. The authors of the Nikki Keddie and Fatima Mernissi Book Awards will receive $500 each. In the event of co-winners, prize money will be divided evenly among the winners. Honorable mentions also receive a certificate of award. Winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony at the 52ndMESA Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas. As well, the results will be posted on MESA’s website and in other publications as deemed appropriate by MESA.


For more information about nominating a book, see MESA Book Awards


April 1, 2018
Event Category: